Tortsday (Tortoise Tuesday) #1

torttuesday_200216_e

THE AWAKENING

It wasn’t the falling of the rain or the profound smell of rubber boot or Giles’s months old socks that awoke me. The rain brushing the window pane always lulls me to – and soothes me in – my sleep. And the butler’s socks are perfect nesting material. At first I tried re-closing my eyes to shut out the external stimuli, but I – the wisest and humblest of all animals – knew something was afoot.

Moments later I managed to shake off the last residues of my deep slumber and climb out of my temporary bed. A loose woollen thread of the sock clings onto a clawk, encumbering my progress – though I manage to shake it free. With a slow nod I look backwards.

Farewell dear warm sock!

I continue onwards.

No sooner had I fully extended my head out of my shell – and thus simutaneously out of the confines of the boot – than did a ray of golden sunshine unmercifully hit me!

Doggone dandelions in the dark!

Being tenacious of mind, I face this new reality with blinking eyes. The corridor where the jumbled boots lay beneath the hung cloaks is bathed in sunlight. So pervading is the light that the scent of it had awoken me to search it out.

But North Norfolk is not yet ready for the Spring. My inner calendar declares it to be a month later when the dandelions begin to emerge from the ground. For the moment I let it warm me and then I return to bed.

Dear Reader I heed you to take enough fitful slumber and to always keep warm. Thick socks are a good start. If you don’t have a butler, you can always acquire your own socks by other means.

“Retreat and Sleep!”

Daisy Elizabeth

 

*

oscar_story_leaves_100

*

Copyright Faith McCord 2016

Story and artwork belongs to Faith McCord who is the author and artist holding the copyright. This is not a public domain work. Worldwide rights

About Oscar Dandelion

Hi, I'm Faith McCord, writer of the Oscar Dandelion books. I love reading, writing, watching films, looking at architecture and general design, embroidery (especially Elizabethan), spending time with my family. I used to enjoy long walks, bodybuilding, going out, however, since my injury my mobility is seriously impaired, so I'm more of a home-body now. I'm interested in meeting other indie / pro writers, so do say 'Hello' ! :)
This entry was posted in New Novel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Tortsday (Tortoise Tuesday) #1

  1. ravenwing72 says:

    Reblogged this on In my own little world and commented:
    This is the work of one of my super talented fellow bloggers.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nancy J says:

    I was captivated by this. Excellent descriptive style. You inspire me. I’m trying to find the right words to describe how reading this made me feel, but cannot. You are simply a amazing and gifted writer.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ahh thank you Nancy, that is kind of you. I love writing, I didn’t have much confidence to really do it until 2011. I’m hoping to get traditionally published. I would like so much to make a living again. When I’m writing about these other worlds I’m transported there and it’s a kind of escapism from having poor health. 🙂 💜💕🐕

      Like

  3. Xeno says:

    Reblogged this on 💞 with love, dot i/0. 💞 and commented:
    may i add, a pillow under the knees helps a lot with good circulatory health! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Tortsday (Tortoise Tuesday) #4 | Little Lord Oscar Dandelion Books

Leave a Reply

