Black Dog

oscar_blog_blackdog_01

Curled beside me in the corner of the chair…

Is my Black Dog. His eyes are baggy, his heart is saggy, and his tail whimpers not wags.

Curled beside me in the corner of the chair…

Is my Black Dog. His nose is dry, his eyes could cry, and there’s no fight in his growl.

 

“Black Dog! Stand up and go!”

Instead he blinks so slow, without thump of his tail, and buries himself in the cushion.

“Black Dog what is wrong? We need to go on!”

But the dog is Despair, too blunted to care

Buried deep like his bones in the ground.

 

Curled beside me in the corner of the chair…

Is my Black Dog. His eyes are baggy, his heart is saggy, and his tail whimpers not wags.

Curled beside me in the corner of the chair…

Is my Black Dog. His nose is dry, his eyes could cry, and there’s no fight in his growl.

 

Dear Reader – Would you prefer him ‘coloured in’?

oscar_blog_blackdog_blue

*

Words: 159

Writing prompt: β€œCurled beside me in the corner of the chair…” inspired by Oscar Dandelion and of course, the Black Dog.

What’s a Chi Tale?: A short story or verse (under a 1,000 words) with doggy references.

oscar_story_leaves_100

*

Copyright Faith McCord 2016

Story and artwork belongs to Faith McCord who is the author and artist holding the copyright. This is not a public domain work. Worldwide rights.

About Oscar Dandelion

Hi, I'm Faith McCord, writer of the Oscar Dandelion books. I love reading, writing, watching films, looking at architecture and general design, embroidery (especially Elizabethan), spending time with my family. I used to enjoy long walks, bodybuilding, going out, however, since my injury my mobility is seriously impaired, so I'm more of a home-body now. I'm interested in meeting other indie / pro writers, so do say 'Hello' ! :)
This entry was posted in Chi Tale, Verse and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Black Dog

  1. Merbear74 says:

    Like him just the way he is!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. rachelsethdenaro says:

    I wouldn’t change him ❀️

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love your drawings. The writing is very emotional. I think the drawing should be blue.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your input Lori. πŸ™‚
      I like blue tones myself. I’m just not completely satisfied with the brown grainy ‘wash’.
      I hope you’re having a lovely weekend. πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. thinkfarris says:

    He’s perfect. It’s very sad. I hope it’s just a story… otherwise it’s sad. Life is full of sadness but you have your art as consolation. And fine art it is.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, I appreciate your comment. πŸ™‚
      Yes, life can be difficult at times. It has a sort of bitter beauty I think. Since my chronic pain and disability I am very grateful for being able to create…it keeps my sanity and I love spending time with my characters. πŸ˜‰
      I hope you’re having a lovely weekend. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • thinkfarris says:

        My pleasure. I aspire to write books as well but must get over my fear and thought that no one would want to read my stuff. The blogging is a good exercise and seems to be building my confidence. I just need to push through the fear and act! Just as you have. You are a great role model!
        And I hope you have a lovely Sunday as well πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • I find the blogging helps, for my writing and for social reasons as I’m seldom able to leave the house. Ah thanks, I’m glad I inspire you. If I had more time for fictional writing I’d like to join some writing groups. You have a way with words yourself. πŸ™‚
        By the way, there are some truly lovely people on here, especially those with health problems – e.g. write chronic pain under tags in the Reader. πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

      • thinkfarris says:

        Thank you for the kind words. I have noticed there are a lot of interesting and compassionate people. It does give a sense of community and that we’re not alone in our troubles. I’ll take the advice & tag “Chronic Pain”.
        thanks again. I look forward to your future posts. Enjoy your Sunday.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, the community makes you feel less alone. Far friendlier than Facebook or You Tube in my experience. Take care my friend. I’ll keep an eye out for your posts too. 🐻

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m so sorry to hear you’re in pain. Everyone gets a turn, and it’s always terrible. Art can be a great mental refuge, though–I’m glad it’s helping you.

    I enjoyed your black dog tale, too–very evocative.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Belinda O says:

    I love him just the way he is. I also appreciate what you have to say about disability and creative outlets. I have my own limitations and the distractions of creation are life-saving sometimes. Black Dog is a lovely piece, poignant yet loving.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Ms. Mango says:

    Beautiful but sad. It feels like I’ve met this black dog a time or two before.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Braggs says:

    I love this. Thank you for sharing

    Liked by 1 person

  9. sheldonk2014 says:

    I love him
    Just the way he is
    As always Sheldon
    Poem too

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

