Writers Beware! Stolen Work!

I’m angry that my entire novel of Little Lord Oscar Dandelion is offered for FREE without my consent on a web site that may or may not be offering other people’s ebooks. Either the books themselves or viruses to be downloaded onto others’ computers.

If any of you have any advice for me I’d be grateful.

This is my entire novel being offered free on the internet. Due to my poor health and the disability I’m unable to work a normal job. And if even I were rich it’s still wrong.

! Other writers please check your own work regularly to see whether it’s being stolen. !

I offered – pdfs of my book, in good faith, in return for honest reviews. I’m thinking one of these people has either sold or given on my ebook, without my consent.

I am taking this seriously.

This is many hours work. MY STORY.

If the person who has done this is reading, you need to remove my book from these illegal sites. You need to destroy the pdf I gave you (which I gave just you for the review).

I will be getting the police and other relevent departments involved.

 

Faith McCord

(author of Little Lord Oscar Dandelion (International Jewel – and Sandwich Filling – Thief).

“RESPECT the work of all artists and writers. Don’t be an idiot and steal.”

Comments closed for now.

🐕 💙 🐕 💜 🐕 💚 🐕 💛 🐕 💙 🐕 💜 🐕 💚 🐕 💛 🐕 💙 🐕 💜 🐕 💚 🐕 💛 🐕

 

About Oscar Dandelion

Hi, I'm Faith McCord, writer of the Oscar Dandelion books. I love reading, writing, watching films, looking at architecture and general design, embroidery (especially Elizabethan), spending time with my family. I used to enjoy long walks, bodybuilding, going out, however, since my injury my mobility is seriously impaired, so I'm more of a home-body now. I'm interested in meeting other indie / pro writers, so do say 'Hello' ! :)
This entry was posted in Notice and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Writers Beware! Stolen Work!

  1. Lisa A. says:

    Oh wow! I’m so sorry! It make take a long time but I would probably get some legal advice! I don’t think the police will do anything.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Thanks Lisa. I feel sick to the stomach. Writing is one of the few things I can still do – and is usually good for me.

      Liked by 3 people

      • Lisa A. says:

        I can imagine feeling bad. Was it a company or individuals that you were dealing with? Both?

        Liked by 2 people

      • I don’t know 😦
        Fiance and me are looking into it now.

        It’s a web site called http://www.downloadebookfree.xyz
        I don’t know if they’re real books being offered – or viruses. Not just my book…

        Liked by 2 people

      • Lisa A. says:

        It looks like a blog. If it were me, I’d tell them what they are doing is wrong and I’m seeking a lawyer. It just sucks if they’re in another country because laws are different everywhere. You don’t know who you’re really dealing with either. I’d ask a lawyer who specializes in these cases. They’ll tell you if they can help or not. Some offer free consultation.

        Liked by 3 people

      • You’re so kind, Lisa, thank you.

        I’ve looked at the page source of the site and found a couple more urls to look at. Because the .xyz one isn’t recognised.

        I emailed them telling them to remove it.

        I can’t seem to see an actual download link. So WHAT is the point of it? It DOESN’T MAKE SENSE.

        It looks like a site offering people’s ebooks for nothing but there’s no downloading button I can find…

        Liked by 2 people

  2. Lisa A. says:

    I’d ask a lawyer first before saying anything to them (if they can help)because what if they just disappear with their blog?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lisa A. says:

    Hopefully you saved emails or anything in writing from them.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I am so sorry. I know this has happened to a couple of other bloggers more than once. I had one gentleman ask if he could share a post and copy and pasted it instead of reblogging! The only thing that saved him from my wrath was the face that he mentioned my name and my blog. On any kind of public platform you have got to protect your work. I am in the process of getting copyrights for my work. It’s not 100% but it’s something. I hope you find the person.

    Liked by 2 people

    • It is, it ruined my evening. My ebook on their site doesn’t seem to download though…so now I’m more puzzled than ever. It was either going to be a virus or my book. So what’s the point?
      Thanks Mer 🙂 xo

      Liked by 1 person

  5. What a disturbing event. It is confusing why someone would steal your work and offer it on their site for free. I wonder if there is any way to protect ourselves from this kind of thievery. I hope you get your book off the site.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks Lori.

      We need to run our books through search engines to see if they’re stolen – how sad is that? I’m not even sure if the law is up to date with ‘digital’ theft, because it’s still stealing. Re. That web site, it is odd.

      All the best. 🙂 xo

      Like

  6. This terrible! The answer to the question of whether you assigned a copyright to the work also answers the question of your legal options.

    Is the person who swiped the work claiming a copyright?

    This link has some excellent information: https://lorelle.wordpress.com/2006/04/10/what-do-you-do-when-someone-steals-your-content/

    I’m going to reblog this because this will eventually happen to anyone who makes original content.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you Rob. 🙂

      We need to spread the word to protect our artwork.

      No, they don’t claim the copyright (my ebook novel has my copyright on the inside, the same copyright shown on my blog posts. That site has other people’s books on it too. If you read the earlier comments you’ll see WHY I’m confused…

      Liked by 1 person

      • I did read them.

        I wonder if he thinks he’s doing you a favor — or if the guy is trolling you…

        It’s odd that he leaves your copyright in place.

        Here’s what you can do.

        Copy the URL and do whois look-up.

        This will tell you who his blog is registered with.

        If as you say, you’ve sent email asking him to take the work down and you have copies of the email you can file a complaint with the company that’s hosting his site.

        The link below is to whois lookup tool.

        https://whois.net/

        I’ve tested it and it works

        If you have corrspondence from this person than that may provide you with his IP address.

        You can then do a DNS lookup and this will give you his ISP and you can write a letter of complaint with them.

        With this tool you can run both a whois and DNS lookup:

        http://ping.eu/nslookup/

        Let me know if this helps…:)

        Liked by 2 people

      • Ah you’re a sweetheart, thank you. I’ll have a look tomorrow, it’s 1.16 a.m. in England.
        🐻 💜

        Liked by 1 person

      • I hope you get your work back. Writing is not easy…and some work takes years to complete.

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Reblogged this on Art by Rob Goldstein and commented:
    This can happen to any of us…

    Liked by 3 people

  8. Andy Smart says:

    Hi Oscar > Lordy that must be really stressful for you. I cant imagine what I’d do if that happened to me but knowing what us indie authors put into our work I can imagine how it feels. I did go to that website you mentioned to Lisa A ( http://www.downloadebookfree.xyz ) and typed in Little Lord Oscar Dandelion and Faith McCord to the search engine and nothing came up. Maybe they removed it? Just thought I’d let you know so your Sunday isnt stressful. I do wonder how so many books can be free. A strange website. Wishing you a chilled out and Blissful Sunday mate.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. JHL says:

    I read just the other day that when it comes to blogs it isn’t really practical to register everything you write, but your work is still covered by copyright laws, you just won’t be compensated as much as you would if you did pay and took the time to register each blog post – at least that is how I understand it so far. Need to do more research on this. As far as your book is concerned, it is registered and therefore you definitely should get a lawyer involved and cut the basturds at the knee. I wish you all the best in getting this handled. Keep us posted!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Rose says:

    I will reblog. This is terrible

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Rose says:

    Reblogged this on Living Free with Disabilities and commented:
    What happened to Faith McCord can happen to you. Please read her blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. painkills2 says:

    Before you give out your work, you should have the recipients sign a contract which says they can’t copy or reproduce your work, or else they’ll owe you a billion dollars. Unfortunately, there’s no fool-proof way to protect your work, unless you have a legal department at your disposal. And it’s probably good to keep in mind that anything posted to the internet is free game. Even YouTube has trouble keeping up with all the pirated videos — by rich artists, with, you guessed it, legal departments at their disposal. Sorry this happened to you, dude. 😦

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks Johnna 🙂
      Someone mentioned it’s gone now. I ended up making the family dinner late and wasn’t able to go food shopping because of the pain flare wouldn’t let me move at all.

      Liked by 1 person

      • painkills2 says:

        Pain sucks. I don’t know anything that sucks as much as pain, except maybe death. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yep, it’s a load of poop. 😦
        A combination of nerve pain and inflammation…it’s still really burning and stiff, I hope I’m able to at least make it to the car in the drive. I can always send John with a shopping list!

        Still, we get to enjoy a slice of the ‘cake’ (life). Your photos are uplifting. Looks like a really nice place you’ve moved in, better than the last…?

        Like

  13. I don’t know how to help but I have shared your post on my twitter and Facebook and asked it anyone has any advice for you. I hope you can get it sorted out, it’s disgusting that people share books with no regard for the author’s hard work and lost income. I’m sorry this has happened to you.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.