Thursday Wait

gy_policestation_carwait_190516_01

Photograph of: My extended left leg – see the blue shoe and the dandelion troosers? The car needs a good tidy…

A blog post I began writing yesterday (Thursday), but then I climbed into my bed and crashed for the next nine hours.

The thing is when you can’t walk properly and your mobility scooter has broken down yet again, and you need to drive someone (John), somewhere (into town), then there entails a bit of waiting.

gy_policestation_carwait_190516_02

Photograph of: Over the rooftops of Great Yarmouth. The sky is really that vibrant blue; the day having been unusually sunny.

I usually bring my Kindle Fire with me, with the preconception of reading, but lately, I’ve been photographing more – albeit from the car. It’s what is born of the boredom.

gy_policestation_carwait_190516_04

Photograph of: I’m not sure what that chimmney is, that is connected to the police station but that seagull likes to perch atop it.

Although I did write a little about an unsavoury character for a short story. And, from a writer’s viewpoint I did get to observe a lot of through-traffic of all kinds of interesting people. I couldn’t wait for John to get back to the car because then he could fetch us some market chips. The psychopath in my story had just been eating them – so I am not certain if the idea originated from him or from me.

gy_policestation_carwait_190516_03

I’ve still a lung infection and so my spoons or energy are reduced further. The motto for today is:

If life gives you phlegm, then cough up.

felty_phlegmandmedbottle_061112_01b

Xox Faith xoX

💚 😯 🐸 💊 📷 💤

.

oscar_story_leaves_100

*

Copyright Faith McCord 2016

Story and artwork belongs to Faith McCord who is the author and artist holding the copyright. This is not a public domain work. Worldwide right

 

 

About Oscar Dandelion

Hi, I'm Faith McCord, writer of the Oscar Dandelion books. I love reading, writing, watching films, looking at architecture and general design, embroidery (especially Elizabethan), spending time with my family. I used to enjoy long walks, bodybuilding, going out, however, since my injury my mobility is seriously impaired, so I'm more of a home-body now. I'm interested in meeting other indie / pro writers, so do say 'Hello' ! :)
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

59 Responses to Thursday Wait

  1. Belinda O says:

    Hope you feel better soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Haha! I never saw a cuter phlegm. Did you make it?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Have you used shop mobility? It is such a fab scheme and is usually present in most areas. They were a huge boon to me when I was in a wheelchair briefly. I understand, though, how trapped you can feel when you can’t walk – it really limits you; but I have to admire you for making the most of it. I often believe the best writers, artists and poets are people who spend time just observing life – it is what sets them apart. Observation is the key – it is really what fires the questions in our minds .. what if?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good morning, my friend 🙂
      I’ve yet to answer your email.
      We don’t seem to have a scheme like that round here, but Asda has scooters 😀
      Sorry to hear about the poor turnout for your groups, people can be quite selfish with saying they’ll turn up then don’t.
      I know these things can cost money to run.
      I would never relish what I have, but good things have come of it…such as the creating aspect, as you say. 🙂
      🐻 💜 🎨

      Like

  4. ugh lung infections are super tough & exhausting. Hope it is behind you soon. Have some market chips for me next time 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, this is taking what little energy I had left from the chronic pain…gosh, I can’t imagine how you manage it: Respect to you! 🙂

      I will think of you, Nicole, when I next have market chips. 😉
      John can’t believe how good they are – he say’s he’s quite happy to stay living in England!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I only know about them because I had a british coworker & she always talked about interesting treats & stuff. Also, when I was living in NY there was a fabulous little English bistro place that served the best tea & their menu was all English food. Some of my better meals & lunches when I was living there were had then. I keep meaning to check and see if it’s still there but I forgot the name of the place 😦

        Liked by 1 person

      • I was wondering if you had tasted chips where you are. American food is very popular here, not just the fast food outlets but proper restaurants – I love the burgers, with blue cheese, bacon, mushrooms, and the crispy fries… :p When I was in Toronto for a two week visit, I went to a greasy spoon almost every day. I’d like to visit the US, if that’s possible, one day. We might move back to where John is from, Canada – etiher New Brunswick or Nova Scotia. Either Canada or Scotland. I’m really a country girl at heart. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • oh yeah. sounds like good old diner food 🙂 Both of those areas are places I’d like to visit in Canada too. One day, & I’d like to see Scotland & Ireland too. I went to Niagara Falls on a whim once & though it was touristy it was still pretty and fun. I grew up in a more rural part of the united states so I know the country feeling. I was raised on a farm :). I still like going back to see family and friends for a small retreat to the quiet when I can. But there’s some nice country here where I’m at out East, too. I hope you will be able to visit the states one day. Just so you can see different parts of it. It’s fun & diverse like other parts of the world 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • I would love to see Niagara Falls – ever since I saw that Marilyn Monroe film, I thought I have to go there one day! If you ever come to the area where I’m living (Scotland, Canada), you’d be welcome to drop in for some tea and cake. 🙂 I’ve been to Ireland, Dublin area. I was married to an Irish man (we lived in Germany), but it was the Irish boyfriend who invited me over, after he came to see me in Norfolk. Unfortunately, there’s still some hostility towards the English so it wasn’t an entirely comfortable. Wow, you were raised on a farm. All those critters – John says it’s like a farm here with all our animals lol.
        I would like to see New York, San Francisco, and the Southern French parts… 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  5. ah here it is: http://www.teaandsympathy.com/#!lunch-menu/c61o Things changed a little but there’s still some stuff I remember. I see they added an actual grocery section & delivery now they didn’t have that back then. I know there’s a few other places when I was searching to see if I could find it that have popped up that I’ll have to remember next time I’m in NYC to check out. 🙂 A good post transplant adventure/field trip/day trip perhaps 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. believe it or not German food is big in NYC too. Couple of good spots I had some schnitzel and other stuff. I’m Russian/Germany heritage (also Norwegian) and I’ve had some good schnitzel & german food in NY. I also out where I live now have a cool little Ukranian deli that serves really nice food & sometimes does a traditional kiev dinner which was fun to experience, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I LOVE Schnitzel!! 😛 with Jaeger sauce.
      Oh I miss that German food!
      Germany will always be my second home. I lived there for over ten years.
      It must be interesting having different heritage like that. All those cultures in you.
      I would like to take John and the dogs touring round Germany, France, Holland, Dennmark etc. with an RV later. He hasn’t seen the continent yet, only Greece where the Greek side (his father) of his family are from.

      Liked by 1 person

    • By the way, I think you’d like Dublin in Ireland. It’s a beautiful city and the Irish people would be friendly to you 🙂
      I could easily understand why it is called the Emerald Isle. The green is so green! 😮

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Thanks for the chat, Nikki 🙂
    I’m going to climb back into my bed now and see if I can sleep again. We’re 5 hours ahead of NY time.
    Faith xox

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m sorry I fell out on you last night Faith, but I agree it was a great chat. Something I appreciate about our blogging community. We get to have such interesting exchanges with others 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Did you fall asleep? 😮
        I enjoyed our chat, it’s great getting to know another friend 😀
        I appreciate the mainly supportive community here on WordPress, too.
        Doing anything nice this weekend?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Caffeine crash. Not quite asleep on the keys but close :). I’m going out to dinner with friends tonight. Not sure what else yet, maybe relax & play some video games 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ooh I love my caffeine! 🍵💟 😱
        That sounds good…what will you be eating?
        What games do you like? I like the Big Fish and indie games for the computer.
        Today is John’s birthday and I managed to bake him a cake! 😀
        Now I’m exhausted again and back in bed…

        Liked by 1 person

      • happy birthday to John by the way! Cakes take energy for sure! what I think I’ll be having is like Turkish/Middle Eastern which is good.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks Nikki, I’ll tell him. 🙂
        I used to have several Iranian friends when I lived in Germany, the loveliest warmest people. One of them, Raza, cooked Iranian for me once – it was delicious!
        Have fun tonight! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • I play a mix. Some playstation 4 games like Fallout 4 & vita games like Borderlands & Civilization. Sometimes relaxing & casual games like sparkle. But then I also have a few visual novels & even a political sim game that is interesting & has been a good release with all the hub bub surrounding our upcoming presidential races & election. Sometimes I don’t have energy to play much for long but I like having the option. I also on occasion make soap. I have a supplier with real pure bases & then I add a bit of scent & color to them. It’s fun & relaxing. Sometimes I mix in oatmeal or other stuff for an exfoliant or for different textures & feels & then I have these different shaped molds I can pour the soap into like rose shaped soaps, bars or other things.

        Liked by 1 person

      • John wants one of those gaming platforms, it does sound tempting. The only ‘killing’ I’ve done is in that plants vs zombies pc game – I can really let off steam with that, lol.
        Your hand made soaps sound nice. Do you decorate them with dried flowers? (I intend to do some old fashioned flower pressing this summer). 😀 💟 🌻🌼🌹

        Liked by 1 person

      • not yet, but sometimes I do embed some lavender or rosemary leaves, mint or apricot seeds, small things like that. I don’t have the patience to dry flowers myself, but otherwise I would be tempted 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • I love lavender and eating rosemary. I’ve a collection of essential oils.

        Liked by 1 person

      • killing fictional stuff is a release. My coordination isn’t too hot so I’m not as good as some people, but I have fun & it’s an escape which is the main thing. I know a lot of people love wii’s and stuff too because of the zombie games & fitness games even. They are good therapy & have come down a lot now that they are an older system. I have one but we usually reserve it for parties to play group games & stuff together. But still they have a good selection of games often on sale or you can find them secondhand which brings down the cost even more. Otherwise the PS4 is a good bet even if it is a bit pricey. Much more stable & durable than an xbox.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks for the tips. John might get lucky this Christmas. Today I had managed to save up for some speakers for his birthday.

        Like

      • Catch you later? I might have a little sleep – I wish the coughing would ease. Have fun tonight! 🙂 xo

        Like

      • no problem. I need more coffee 🙂 Sleep well!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks, I will try to. Zzz

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Rose says:

    I enjoy your perspective. I, too, am mobility challenged. Recently, I encountered a woman who told me that I looked as if I did not need a wheelchair. I did not believe that I heard her correctly. So, I asked her, “Did you just say that I don’t look as if I need a wheelchair?”

    “Yes,” she replied, “I don’t think you need a wheelchair. Now, my husband, he needs a wheelchair.”

    With that, she rolled her cart away. I was stunned.

    So, keep writing. We need more of us sharing our stories (fiction and non-fiction).

    Liked by 1 person

    • wow Rose. That’s really a horrid thing to say to someone. I know sometimes I get looks with my oxygen machine. I know the easy assumption is for people to assume I did something to myself to make my lungs fail, but it’s just bad genetics in my case. I’ve noticed that people now days are more emboldened to say things to strangers they wouldn’t dream of saying to someone else. It can be a jolt for sure.

      Liked by 2 people

    • Hi Rose, I’m sorry to hear you’ve mobility problems too. That woman who said that to you was so rude! Unfortunately, there’s people who don’t mind their own business, and it’s shocking what they say or do. I’ve met lots of these types since becoming disabled (9 years now). One woman wouldn’t stop her hostile staring of me when I had to wait at the post office. I was having a bad day and was feeling very vulnerable, and so wasn’t up to confronting her. I felt almost violated.
      Ah thanks, that’s kind of you, writing is my number one passion. 🙂
      🐻 💚 🌞

      Liked by 2 people

  9. I agree. WordPress has been such a great outlet. Seems also less prone to drama & trolling than other forms of social media too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I didn’t like Facebook too much, so many being fake. I like uploading videos to YouTube but there’s too many trolls. 😦

      Liked by 1 person

      • I keep facebook mainly for friends & family & cross post my blog there. Sometimes some helpful groups too. I really like twitter but at points it can get to be a bit much with trolls. I think it’s great that word press allows you to see comments before you post that way if someone trolls you no one else other than you even has to know if you don’t want them to & it gives you more control over who you choose to interact with.

        Liked by 1 person

      • If someone isn’t friendly with me on WordPress, I block their posts. But thankfully, most people are great.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

