The Hotel Unicus (Part 4) – A Short Story Series

old_wall_motif_030516_b

~ PART FOUR ~

Our experience at the hotel wasn’t what we’d imagined it to be.

Have you read Part Three? You can catch up *here*.

Part Two

Part One

.

In the next moment, George came running to witness me fall flat on my face.

.

“Why did you leave me?” I complained later, in our room.

“Sorry Maggie, I don’t know…to tell you the truth. I suppose I was enchanted by Mary.” George perched himself on the edge of the bed, beside me.

“If you weren’t such an old goat I’d be jealous! Really, George!”

“You know me, Maggie. It wasn’t like that.”

I plumped up the pillows behind me on the bed. Within my heart, I knew it wasn’t really like that. I leant back. “So explain how it was…’enchanting’.”

“I suppose she bewitched me with her melodic voice. I got lost in her words.”

I laughed at that. “Melodic voice! The girl – although pretty, I grant you that – sounds like an old hag.”

“Huh?” He stood up and went to the window.

The only window in our room was like the ones in the reception room: long, sashed, and painted cream. George opened it a few inches and let in the pleasant tepid breeze. I remember the weather that day, it was in the mid seventies, and very clammy. Even the tepid breeze was a welcome when our thin cotton clothes adhered like a second skin. Despite all the opulence elsewhere in the hotel our room wasn’t air conditioned.

I was still too dizzy – sipping the cool water from a glass, poured from the tap in our ensuite bathroom – to change into something fresh. For now I was content to lay back in the bed, with my bare feet up on cushions.

Our Fairyland room was painted and decorated in powder-blue hues with accents of gold. The double bed was a four-poster with an overhead canopy and curtains that were tied back to the gold posts, with golden tassles. The cover spread over the bed, and the pillows and towels were of the highest quality. Either side of the bed stood glass topped ironwork tables, with each holding a small lamp; spheres of light carried high by metal fairies. The indigo blue carpet let your bare feet sink into it. The metallic and mirrored stars on the overhead bed canopy let your imagination drift off into sleep.

“Maggie, what did you see when you screamed?” George asked, his back to me, still by the window.

“I’m not sure really. Not anymore…” I answered.

“When we got to you, you said you saw something ‘revolting’…that it was touching you.”

“I think I remember. But you’ll laugh at me if I tell you.”

George shrugged his shoulders. “I won’t laugh at you.” He said softly.

“I must have fallen asleep in the heat, tired from our long journey. I had an unsettling dream…you were standing exactly there by the window. Then the dream was nice. I felt truly loved. I thought it was you gently stroking my face.” I paused, uncertain how to continue without looking absurd.

“That does sound nice. What happened next?”

“When I realised it wasn’t really you, I awoke. It wasn’t even a hand stroking my face all that time; it was something else. It was large and black, with more than five fingers. It was covered in dense hair that was really fur…” I couldn’t bare to think of it anymore.

At the window, George sighed. “Oh Maggie, it was just a dream. You know when you awake and you think you’re awake, but you’re really awake in another dream. A bit like that Inception film.”

But it had seemed too real.

I couldn’t argue about it; I wanted to forget it.

.

“Maggie,” George was saying, standing by the only window in our hotel room. “you really should have a look at this.”

I was reclining on the double bed, with the inertia of not being able to move. Even if I could, I wasn’t willing to move my resting pained body. The only view I had out of the window was the top half which showed an expanse of cloudy but blue sky.

Somehow, I felt I had already lived through this part.

“George, please don’t tell me to look now: I’ll look later.” My words seemed held by time; they lingered in the air.

George made an odd clicking sound in the back of his throat. Something I’d never heard him do before – although it was strangely deja vu.

“What George? What is it?” I pulled myself up into a sitting position and craned my neck.

Still transfixed on the happenings going on outside our window, my husband sighed.

“George, will you tell me what’s going on?” I put forth the question I was supposed to ask; the words familiar from another place, but still necessary.

“I’m not sure,” he answered, without turning. “they’ve taken the body away now.”

.

old_wall_motif_growl_030516_c

“I knew you were going to say that.” I told him.

“How? That’s not possible.” George neared the bed. His face white with shock. “Had you seen the dead person earlier?”

“No, I didn’t need to. I already knew what you were going to say – word for word – before you said it. Don’t ask me how.”

“It’s this place. There’s something about the hotel that isn’t right.” George said, summing up my own uneasy feelings.

He reached for his mobile phone in his back pocket, then his hand faltered. “I didn’t bring it – my work phone – remember? I left it behind. See if you can get a reception on yours.”

I searched inside my Italien leather handbag beside me on the bed, and located my phone quite easily. We weren’t surprised to find that we couldn’t get a signal on it out here.

I recalled the words from the hotel’s web site:

Leave behind your current worries and the modern world…and let us entertain you!

We had left behind our current worries and the modern world. But what was entertaining us? What did it want with George and me?

to_be_continued_foot_cobblestones_stick_030516_m

.

~ To be continued! ~

 

.

 

Photographs and digital manipulation by me, 3rd May 2016, Great Yarmouth Row Houses.

💜

My day out at the Great Yarmouth Row Houses.

💛

Gideon Falls

💚

Words: 1,001

Writing prompt: Our experience at the hotel wasn’t what we’d imagined it to be.

Writing inspiration: A strange dream. And a little Hotel California.

What’s a Short Story Series?: A short story written over several parts, around 1,000 words for each part.

oscar_story_leaves_100

*

Copyright Faith McCord 2016

Story and artwork belongs to Faith McCord who is the author and artist holding the copyright. This is not a public domain work. Worldwide right

About Oscar Dandelion

Hi, I'm Faith McCord, writer of the Oscar Dandelion books. I love reading, writing, watching films, looking at architecture and general design, embroidery (especially Elizabethan), spending time with my family. I used to enjoy long walks, bodybuilding, going out, however, since my injury my mobility is seriously impaired, so I'm more of a home-body now. I'm interested in meeting other indie / pro writers, so do say 'Hello' ! :)
This entry was posted in Short Story Series and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to The Hotel Unicus (Part 4) – A Short Story Series

  1. mmleonard says:

    Cool, similar to my writing experiment, except I have new authors writing each part. Up to part 38 now. Maybe you can join in sometime based on what you write here.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Barbara Pottie Holmes says:

    I couldn’t help myself; I read the whole series.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh! Suspense!!! 😮 Looking forward to part 5!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ps: I almost forgot! I just wanted to let you know that your subcription didn’t go through on my blog for some reason. So sorry! Please let me know if you would like to try again so I can double check. Thank you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: The Hotel Unicus (Part 5) – A Short Story Series | Little Lord Oscar Dandelion Books

  6. Oh! I wonder whose body it was! Very creepy!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Maggie?! I am totally confused (probably because I’ve only started reading this now 😐 ) Was a very interesting read. Will definitely try to catch up. The image used in this post was great! Was it rocks or beans? What was featured in that image?! Hotel California is an awesome song.

    Keep well,
    xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: The Hotel Unicus (Part 6) – A Short Story Series | Little Lord Oscar Dandelion Books

  9. Pingback: The Hotel Unicus (Part 7) – A Short Story Series | Little Lord Oscar Dandelion Books

  10. Pingback: The Hotel Unicus (Part 8) – A Short Story Series | Little Lord Oscar Dandelion Books

  11. Pingback: The Hotel Unicus (Part 9) – A Short Story Series | Little Lord Oscar Dandelion Books

  12. Pingback: The Hotel Unicus (Part 10) – A Short Story Series | Little Lord Oscar Dandelion Books

  13. Pingback: The Hotel Unicus (Part 11) – A Short Story Series | Little Lord Oscar Dandelion Books

  14. Pingback: The Hotel Unicus (Part 12) -A Short Story Series | Little Lord Oscar Dandelion Books

  15. Pingback: The Hotel Unicus (Part 13) – A Short Story Series | Little Lord Oscar Dandelion Books

  16. Pingback: The Hotel Unicus (Part 14) – A Short Story Series | Little Lord Oscar Dandelion Books

  17. Pingback: The Hotel Unicus (Part 15) – A Short Story Series | Little Lord Oscar Dandelion Books

  18. Pingback: The Hotel Unicus (Part 16) – A Short Story Series | Little Lord Oscar Dandelion Books

  19. Pingback: The Hotel Unicus (Part 17) – A Short Story Series | Little Lord Oscar Dandelion Books

  20. Pingback: The Hotel Unicus (Part 18) – A Short Story Series | Little Lord Oscar Dandelion Books

  21. Pingback: The Hotel Unicus (Part 19) – A Short Story Series | Little Lord Oscar Dandelion Books

  22. Pingback: The Hotel Unicus (Part 20) – A Short Story Series | Little Lord Oscar Dandelion Books

  23. Pingback: The Hotel Unicus (Part 21; Epilogue) – A Short Story Series | Little Lord Oscar Dandelion Books

Leave a Reply

