Evening Dogs

oscar_dandelion_dreams_160816

T’is a quiet evening spent by myself and two of the pups – quiet if you don’t count the fan of the air conditioner and the odd creak coming from downstairs.

I managed to shower, beautify my feet AND wash my hair in one day! I’m exhausted. O the neuropathic pain never lets up. It’s like a fire that alternates between smouldering and blazing. My stiff back feels like its fusing into one bone with the ever present blade of the knife stuck horizontally in its lower regions.

My dogs brings me a lot of companionship. Tonight, it’s peaceful: Oscar sleeping to my right; and, Twiglet, his son, sleeping in the middle of both my legs.

twiglet_sleeps_160816

Just looking at them makes me smile.

I bought a secondhand book off Amazon, recently, called Women + Dogs by Judith Watt and Peter Dyer. It’s filled with photography of famous women (actors, singers, writers, artists, athletes etc.) together with their dog/s. The opposing page offers a mini biography of the woman and beast/s. It’s quite fun reading.

women_a_dogs_book_160816

I also managed to do some admin work (I’m always behind), then take Chester for a jog. I ride the mobility scooter on top speed, trying to miss the loose stones and pot holes and speed humps on my road, whilst Chester runs alongside me. We also dodge the big cars. When they pass she gives them a good telling off as only a Jack Russell can!

Tomorrow, I’m getting bath rails fitted so I can hopefully properly bath again. My body will thank me for the warm soak with Dead Sea bath salts. Showers are too dangerous with all that balancing and standing.

Tomorrow, let’s hope for more sunshine and happy moments.

Thank you for dropping by 🙂 I will pay you a visit soon 😀

Faith xox

red_spot_dog_em_board_160816

.

oscar_story_leaves_100

*

Copyright Faith McCord 2016

Story and artwork belongs to Faith McCord who is the author and artist holding the copyright. This is not a public domain work. Worldwide rights.

About Oscar Dandelion

Hi, I'm Faith McCord, writer of the Oscar Dandelion books. I love reading, writing, watching films, looking at architecture and general design, embroidery (especially Elizabethan), spending time with my family. I used to enjoy long walks, bodybuilding, going out, however, since my injury my mobility is seriously impaired, so I'm more of a home-body now. I'm interested in meeting other indie / pro writers, so do say 'Hello' ! :)
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Evening Dogs

  1. Sounds as if you had a full day. Hope tomorrow pans out.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Rose 🙂
      It’s difficult trying to ‘keep up’ with daily tasks, even though you know you won’t ever really, properly ‘keep up’ anymore! – isn’t it?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes. I do like your idea of taking your dog out for a run while you ride your mobility scooter. Great idea. I would never have thought of doing that.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I saw it in a film, lol. I just have to train her better with keeping a straighter trajectory and not try to get at the cars!

        The other day she ran after the cat that moons her at the top of our drive! Such a cheeky cat. The extension lead jumped out of my hand as she wound herself round the neighbours’ car tyres! The cat sat, chilled out, by the side of the car, thinking ‘stupid dog’…

        Mid-way on our journey today, a worrying thought struck me: what happens if I break down here? I had no walking stick, no mobile phone to call for help. I ought to be better prepared.

        Liked by 2 people

  2. Pets are such sweet and comforting companions. I don’t wonder any longer how you keep such a positive outlook on life despite the hardships you endure. 💐

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Woman! Do you not have a shower stool? I do have a no-step shower and it’s hard to come by in private rentals…..I wouldn’t manage a bath for several reasons but sitting in the shower is bliss.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Helen, they’re giving me all kinds of things but in separate deliveries – this is the fourth delivery, and they said they’re sending a fifth! I already have a very low bath stool with suction feet but it’s too low at a height of ten inches to sit on. I use it for standing bottles and things on and is very useful for us to wash the small dogs! The fifth delivery is a normal chair (I believe).

      I moved back home to live with my elderly parents, just Mum now. Her bath dates from the sixties. It has an added shower over the top. So, no modern walk-in shower cubicle here, although that would be preferable.

      Your shower and set up sound like heaven 🙂

      🐻 💜 🚿

      Like

Leave a Reply

