Faded Double Rainbows

doublerainbow_190816_01doublerainbow_190816_02doublerainbow_190816_03

Several days ago I posted a photograph of a double rainbow I took outside my house – a photo that turned up in my Kindle Fire feed, from three years ago. Seeing a double rainbow is rare and I am greatly appreciative to have actually seen one for myself.

Yesterday, I sang ‘I can sing a rainbow’ to my dogs because they love that song. I’m not the best of singers and I don’t remember the lyrics well enough!

Later, in the evening, my mum received a phone call from someone who advised her to look outside, ‘…at the end of the drive’, which is east-facing. Out we went, expecting to see one of our beautiful Norfolk sunsets, and the rainbow the caller talked of.

To my astonishment, it was actually a Double Rainbow! Two double rainbows in my lifetime (so far!). I never expected to see another again.

I forced myself to climb the stairs (I’ve a very painful body) to fetch my kindle which has a built-in camera and takes ok enough photos. However, by the time I managed to snap the photos, the sky had darkened somewhat and the rainbows were quickly fading. Unfortunately, there isn’t a sign of the double rainbows in my photographs; there is only the one, with its quickly fading and subdued colours.

But, I’m in awe of seeing two double rainbows, in my life!

And, wasn’t it a strange kind of coincidence seeing them again? Synchronicity perhaps? The same day I sang the ‘Rainbow‘ song.

 

.

oscar_story_leaves_100

*

Copyright Faith McCord 2016

Story and artwork belongs to Faith McCord who is the author and artist holding the copyright. This is not a public domain work. Worldwide rights.

About Oscar Dandelion

Hi, I'm Faith McCord, writer of the Oscar Dandelion books. I love reading, writing, watching films, looking at architecture and general design, embroidery (especially Elizabethan), spending time with my family. I used to enjoy long walks, bodybuilding, going out, however, since my injury my mobility is seriously impaired, so I'm more of a home-body now. I'm interested in meeting other indie / pro writers, so do say 'Hello' ! :)
This entry was posted in Art, life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Faded Double Rainbows

  1. Stunning photo. I too have seen a double rainbow. I was visiting family in Naro, Sicily and used to get up early in the morning and go out on the back patio to drink a cup of tea. as I looked east toward the mountain town there above the church was a double rainbow. I was able to capture it with my camera. :o)

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Pupazzovi says:

    Very interesting !!
    I ‘ve never seen a double rainbow.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Most definitely a serendipitous moment.

    Liked by 1 person

    • šŸ™‚
      I think so.
      There’s something so magical about them. One side is very dark and the opposite side is shining golden light. The two rainbows mirror one another. Yes, this is a hard and cruel world, but it’s also amazing and beautiful.
      Love + hugs xox

      Liked by 1 person

  4. rubycommenting says:

    Of course I like the rainbow, but even more, I like that you sing to your dogs and that they have a favorite song. That is sweet!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What a lovely post, you got me singing that song too and what a happy one.
    I find photography so frustrating at times, it never really captures the wonderful rich variety that we see with our eyes. What an amazing experience – law of attraction in process – you get what you seek.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. i wonder what the rainbow song is. šŸ˜Š

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Anna says:

    I think you manifested those rainbows by singing the song….. you are more powerful than you realize! xoxo Anna

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anna, wouldn’t that be wonderful šŸ™‚
      Recently, I’ve been thinking just how inter-connected we are to not just every other human but -everything- – the flora and the fauna, the stars…..
      Love Faith + Oscar Dandelion (+co.!) xoxo

      Like

  8. Don’t you just love those moments when the Universe Sings back ! šŸ™‚ Lovely šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

