Oscar: I may be small, but my heart is big

IMG_20160713_1700079_rewind

IMG_20160713_1700011_rewind

It’s really true, you know, that dogs teach us to be better humans.

.

oscar_story_leaves_100

*

Copyright Faith McCord 2016

Story and artwork belongs to Faith McCord who is the author and artist holding the copyright. This is not a public domain work. Worldwide rights.

About Oscar Dandelion

Hi, I'm Faith McCord, writer of the Oscar Dandelion books. I love reading, writing, watching films, looking at architecture and general design, embroidery (especially Elizabethan), spending time with my family. I used to enjoy long walks, bodybuilding, going out, however, since my injury my mobility is seriously impaired, so I'm more of a home-body now. I'm interested in meeting other indie / pro writers, so do say 'Hello' ! :)
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Oscar: I may be small, but my heart is big

  1. They do. They live in the moment and are eager to please.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Love this! What a sweet picture, too!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. trE says:

    Yes, they do! Oscar is truly handsome!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh Oscar you’re so so Sooo cute, you make my toes curl. Too bad Faith lives so far away from me, I’d like to introduce you to my Niece’s PinkyPerro; she might just do it for you because she is, without a doubt an opposite of a handsome dog. Here is her picture, maybe you’d like to paw pal once in awhile. xxx ooo Your new “Auntie dru”

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Tony says:

    They pulled a dog out of the rubble of the Italian earthquake… the expression of fear tinged with relief was so clear. Nice pics Faith

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Love the photo bomber on the right! Purrfect (Cat person here)

    Liked by 2 people

  7. I am also a little dog fan, and love accounts from the dog’s perspective (and your cute pics). I have a 10.5 lb. Shih Tzu who will be 2 in late Oct., so I relate to the “cute as a pup, not so great as they grow” behavioral comments. But TinkerToy lives to please, and loves attention, so he’s fairly amenable to training. (Love cats too, but highly allergic – Tink’s not so sure about them lol )

    Especially loved your “books” About page, btw, but there was no comment box.
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com)
    – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
    “It takes a village to transform a world!”

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Madelyn, thanks for dropping by πŸ™‚
      So, you’re a fellow small dog ‘parent’ too πŸ˜€
      Yes, re. small dogs and training – I find my Chihuahuas one of the hardest breeds to toilet train, although I was very lucky with my very first Chi, Sugar (we were together 15 years, thru’ thick and thin! My best friend). It was just her and me for a long while, I actually toilet trained her by putting her bed and water bowl in the bath tub, worked great, lol.
      All the best, xox Faith + Oscar Dandelion (and co.!)

      Liked by 1 person

      • They say that Shih Tzu are difficult to potty train too. They ARE stubborn, but live for praise and attention, so it’s not really that difficult to train them to adopt almost any behavior you want them to learn with ONLY positive reinforcement. They learn quickly, but after over 30 years with this breed (one of the few that don’t trigger asthma-like allergies), I promise that they won’t do ANYTHING with the “tough love” approach.

        I can’t claim credit for my immediate success with Tink, however. He learned after ONE attempt inside and another outdoors. He prefers to go outside, marking as he goes, but also uses a trainer tray indoors when he can’t wait for me to take him out – or maybe when he wants my attention or the kind of treat he gets for that behavior – he actually comes to get me and sort of whines until I say “show me” – and follow him to his tray for a delightedly “surprised” Good BOY! He wags his tail, waiting for me to clean it, and fork over a little piece of turkey jerky. lol.

        Good breeding will out – this is only one reason to take the time to find an attentive breeder (as I know you did with Oscar Dandelion). I got him at 3 months, and he was already well-socialized.

        NOW, if I could only figure out how to break up his love affair with paper (and find his stash!) – I need no more confetti.
        xx,
        mgh

        PS – your bath tub idea is kind of like an extremely deep trainer tray – easy to clean, clear boundaries. Very clever idea!

        Liked by 1 person

      • I always praise mine when they toilet in the right place and speak kindly with them. I didn’t know that Shih Tzus are good for people with allergies. My six month old puppies love ripping up paper too…and bring earth, plants and plastic pots into the house! :/ 🐩 πŸ•

        Liked by 1 person

      • Puppies! They are so worth the extra work involved, aren’t they?

        Tink doesn’t seem to focus much on anything besides paper, but he makes a bee-line for it, no matter where or what it is. He is such a confetti-hound that I can’t even line his potty tray with those absorbent pads that are supposed to be clipped firmly in place – I have been forced to use them as fancy paper towels (to make it easy to soak up what’s in the naked tray, with the plastic back keeping my hands clean). I cut them into 4ths for that purpose.

        Do you think that’s his way of helping with the family budget? πŸ™‚
        xx,
        mgh

        Liked by 1 person

      • You haven’t really lived until you’ve loved a puppy! Yes, they’re worth it and are a lot like human children, needing the same kind of discipline and love.

        Like

      • Fiance put actual bricks on the puppy paper pads! πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      • LOL – I never thought of that clever solution. What IS it about paper shredding that is so appealing to so many dogs?
        xx,
        mgh

        Like

  8. What. A. Dog. Good post!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. sheldonk2014 says:

    I got a small fur bean her name is lillian
    She rules the house also
    Thanks for visiting
    As always sheldon

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

