Peanut Butter Bones

dogs_peanut_bones_090916_03

Why are my dogs looking at me like this?

Earlier, inspired by an online recipe, I got busy in the kitchen. Despite the heat. But, I had lower pain levels and wanted to do something nice.

dogs_peanut_bones_090916_14

dogs_peanut_bones_090916_13

dogs_peanut_bones_090916_11

Of course they hovered about. You only have to glance at the periphery of the photos… (Twiglet, middle; Beatrix Grace, the bottom).

dogs_peanut_bones_090916_10

Above photograph of: the peanut butter bone biscuits ready for the oven. The ‘before’ picture.

dogs_peanut_bones_090916_09

We waited.

(I don’t know how they knew that I was baking for them. John and Mum got excited at one point – unfortunately).

Beatrix (above photo) hung about the kitchen. She loves food more than any of my other dogs; and, they, being dogs, naturally love food.

dogs_peanut_bones_090916_07

Above photo: Beatrix and son, Maxi. She is the smaller one, looking outside.

Waited.

dogs_peanut_bones_090916_08

Above photo: Maxi and CreamScone, his tomboy sis.

And, waited.

dogs_peanut_bones_090916_06

Photo of: counting free-range eggs…

Finally…..

dogs_peanut_bones_090916_05

Yum!

Baked to a delicate golden light crunch. Perfect.

dogs_peanut_bones_090916_04

I went outside to the patio, to my big wicker chair by the backdoor, with a plate of them.

They all gathered round me.

(Oscar Dandelion was absent because he is being currently separated from Chester who is on heat. Maxi had ‘time-out’ for biting Twiglet).

dogs_peanut_bones_090916_02

 

Photo of: the Pack. Chester, CoCo, Beatrix Grace, CreamScone and Twiglet. And my spotty knee-caps. Not my skin (leggings).

They loved the home-baked peanut butter bone biscuits!

I recommend any human who is owned-by-a-dog to make them. I found I had to slightly alter the amounts of the ingredients, so here is my recipe:

~* MY RECIPE for PEANUT BUTTER DOG BISCUITS *~

1 cup of smooth peanut butter (I only had crunchy)

1 egg

2 cups of low fat milk (I drink coconut milk but I didn’t know if they’d like that, so I stuck to dairy)

2 cups of self raising flour

– – – – – – – – – – – –

Pre-heat the oven at gas mark 5 for 10 minutes. Mix the peanut butter with the beaten egg. Gradually add and stir in the milk. Gradually ‘fold in’ the flour. If need be, alter the flour and milk SLIGHTLY. What you want is a good dough consistency. Knead into a nice lump. Roll out on floured table top, 1/4 inch thick. With a bone shaped cutter, cut out little bone biscuit shapes. As the dough has a lot of fat from the peanut butter, I didn’t grease the baking tin with butter first. Instead, I carefully lay the bone shapes on a layer of tin foil. Place the tray on the middle shelf and bake until lightly golden – it took me 12-15 minutes. Cool on a baking rack then store in an air-tight box or jar. These make thoughtful presents for doggy friends. Your dogs will love them!

.

Have a lovely weekend dear blogging friends.

Faith + Oscar (+ co.). xox

dogs_peanut_bones_090916_01

.

oscar_story_leaves_100

*

Copyright Faith McCord 2016

Story and artwork belongs to Faith McCord who is the author and artist holding the copyright. This is not a public domain work. Worldwide rights.

About Oscar Dandelion

Hi, I'm Faith McCord, writer of the Oscar Dandelion books. I love reading, writing, watching films, looking at architecture and general design, embroidery (especially Elizabethan), spending time with my family. I used to enjoy long walks, bodybuilding, going out, however, since my injury my mobility is seriously impaired, so I'm more of a home-body now. I'm interested in meeting other indie / pro writers, so do say 'Hello' ! :)
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Peanut Butter Bones

  1. Kara says:

    I’d eat those… they’re like health food for people. 😉 I’m in love with all of your adorable pups! Thanks for sharing.

    I made flax seed biscuits for my terrier. It was just ground flax, nutritional yeast, parsley, and water. She went nuts for them. I guess the parsley is supposed to freshen their breath?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. davidprosser says:

    Spoiled, no wonder your four legged friends love you so much.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Too bad my dog watching brood doesn’t like peanut butter…..can you believe that?

    Some day I’m going to write that story “3-Dogs and 1-Cat in a Condo” and I’m going to have to pick you brain clean, Faith but until then……keep it up! ~~dru~~

    ps Twiglet told me to say that last part.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m astounded, Dru, peanut butter! 😮
      You’re welcome to pick my brains, but I don’t have a good memory… :/
      It sounds like it’d make an interesting story 😀
      Twiglet is rather philosophical these days…
      🐻 💜 🐕 🐈

      Like

  4. Sabina Ayne says:

    I wish LadyBird was still around – I’d make these for her straight away!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Such a great story. Eager little faces patiently waiting. Yes, I noticed. I wonder how long they last?

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Yeah, no. I meant how long before they are all eaten. I imagine dogs are good at Pester-Power as are cats.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Special treat made by a special lady for special dogs.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

