Inflammation pain flare

Calling out to the pain community.

Scuse the language, but the inflammation kills like a bitch. Lower back cannot move. Taking gabapentin and ibuprofen (can’t take opiods as they trigger migraines). 2.55 am here, don’t want to call ambulance. Any ideas? Thanks. Xox. Faith.

About Oscar Dandelion

Hi, I'm Faith McCord, writer of the Oscar Dandelion books. I love reading, writing, watching films, looking at architecture and general design, embroidery (especially Elizabethan), spending time with my family. I used to enjoy long walks, bodybuilding, going out, however, since my injury my mobility is seriously impaired, so I'm more of a home-body now. I'm interested in meeting other indie / pro writers, so do say 'Hello' ! :)
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Inflammation pain flare

  1. Prairie Girl says:

    I wish I could help. The only thing I can think of is the use of hot water bottle/s and deep relaxation until you fall asleep. I know it’s obvious so maybe not helpful, but please consider it encouragement to try the obvious if you haven’t yet this time. Again, I only wish to be able to help. (On the side, oil of oregano is good for inflammation – it can be taken orally and also rubbed on.)

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Prairie Girl says:

    I mention this because you’ve already said your using pain medication. This is an add-on to those.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kara says:

    Heat makes my back worse. I’ve got a herniated disc. muscle soreness and arthritic type joint pain might respond better to heat, as do spasms. I take ibuprofen (even though it’s a big no no for me) and lay on an ice pack. It’s not great, but it’s better than nothing. I’m sorry you’re hurting. 😦

    Liked by 2 people

  4. davidprosser says:

    I hope you’ve changed your mind and called an ambulance. If you can’t move at least they can get you to where you’ll get some professional help and get over this spasm a bit quicker.
    I hope the pain soon eases and you feel better.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks David. The cold is working. If it worsens I’ll call the ambulance. I’ve neuropathy and inflammation from an untreated undiagnosed hip subluxation/partial dislocation.
      Massive hugs back 🐻 💜

      Like

  5. trE says:

    I know ALL about this. *sighs* Pink Himalayan salt, get some. Put it in a nice warm bath and soak. Do this daily. It helps, trust me.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Damn it, re no Opiates. I joke Heroin is my Go-To. But I really mean Oxy Norm. Have you considered Chiropractor and or acupuncture? I go to both every Wednesday. I call it my Punchy/Stabby day. Chiro keeps everything working and acupuncture guarantees me a great nights sleep.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Punchy/stabby day! Love it!! 😀
      I need to fight for compensation (medical negligence) to be able to afford this – but I’d like to go. Our NHS, free medical care is only so good. Fudge! 😉
      Hugs my friend 🐻 💜 🐈

      Like

  7. I’m so sorry you experienced this horrific pain. Glad to read it is subsiding. Sounds as if you were given good advice. All I can offer you is emotional support. My friend is heat. I sit with a small heater blasting away at my legs. Would never have thought of cold packs. Wishing you a better day.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I normally use heat but I haven’t known the inflammation to get this hot before. Usually, when it does its worst, that means stiffening my body so I’m unable to move. Then I warm hip, leg and lower back with blankets, heated shiatzu cushion and even my small dogs! Lol.
      Thankfully, just the cold room being exposed to my skin helped enough. And more gabapentin and ibuprofen.
      Have a beautiful day yourself, Rose. 🐻 💚 🌹

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Fibronacci says:

    So sorry you have been suffering! 😦 I have been told before that alternating heat and cold is good for reducing inflammation. Have you ever tried that (with any success)? **Gentle hugs**

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Hoping you feel better soon! Hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

