A Christmas Cream Tea

wroxhambarns_creamtea_231216_b

wroxhambarns_creamtea_231216_m

wroxhambarns_creamtea_231216_k

wroxhambarns_creamtea_231216_h

wroxhambarns_creamtea_231216_i

wroxhambarns_creamtea_231216_j

wroxhambarns_creamtea_231216_g

wroxhambarns_creamtea_231216_f

wroxhambarns_creamtea_231216_d

wroxhambarns_creamtea_231216_c

wroxhambarns_creamtea_231216_a

wroxhambarns_creamtea_231216_e

wroxhambarns_creamtea_231216_l

My mum invited John and I for a ‘Christmas’ Cream Tea (the same treat I had as a birthday present). We don’t have much money or go out a lot due to my poor health (chronic pain and disability) so this was a thoughtful act. I wasn’t going to let the migraine entirely spoil the day for me. The pain was only dampened with pills but I tried making things easier with wearing sunglasses and bundling up warm in a fleecy blanket in the car. The next morning – now, as I’m writing this post – I’m feeling a lot better! We brought the mobility scooter but I felt able to walk to and from the restaurant area. I try to do the walking whenever up to it.

Afterwards, we visited the tiny Fudge Shop, opposite, and chatted with the friendly owner as we picked out our sweets and admired the wall murals, which are astonishingly beautiful by an artist called Gnasher. (Unfortunately, no photos of them, but I’ll have a look on the internet for a link). …Here’s *one*!

I am so proud of how we managed to sort out and fit our new car battery ourselves and save Β£40.! God bless You Tube videos!! I watched a couple of videos showing what to do, such as removing and fixing the negative and positive cables in the correct order etc. then decided to take the plunge and ordered the battery from Tayna (in the UK where we live). They’re a great business supplying the battery quickly and safely the very next day and their prices are fair. Why did I think I could do the battery myself? Having a mobility scooter that obviously has to run off batteries, and because we change them ourselves, gave me the confidence. I thought, how hard can it really be? There are a few things that you must consider and that are important for your safety – but, if you’re thinking of doing it yourself, the information is easily and readily available out there. Ah, it’s so good having the car back after a month!

I hope you’re keeping warm – and, perhaps drinking egg nogg with a smile on your face! Speak to you soon.

Love Faith and Oscar Dandelion + co. xox

PS. The dogs were SO PLEASED when we came home again!

rosy_apples_sweets

.

oscar_story_leaves_100

*

Copyright Faith McCord 2016

Story and artwork belongs to Faith McCord who is the author and artist holding the copyright. This is not a public domain work. Worldwide rights.

About Oscar Dandelion

Hi, I'm Faith McCord, writer of the Oscar Dandelion books. I love reading, writing, watching films, looking at architecture and general design, embroidery (especially Elizabethan), spending time with my family. I used to enjoy long walks, bodybuilding, going out, however, since my injury my mobility is seriously impaired, so I'm more of a home-body now. I'm interested in meeting other indie / pro writers, so do say 'Hello' ! :)
This entry was posted in life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Christmas Cream Tea

  1. rubycommenting says:

    Hi Faith, I really enjoyed reading this post of yours and the pictures are fantastic. You supplied some great information here and I like how you look for the positives in your day and dont let the negatives get you down. Life has both, we know that. You sound like a sensitive person but dont ever let anyone tell you that that is a bad thing because sensitivity is beautiful. It allows you to feel so much more. While Christmas Cream Tea is not a package you unwrap, it is an experience, and nice heartwarming experiences is what betters our lives, not necessarily an object in a wrapped box. I just want to tell you that I deleted my blog, it just makes more sense in my life right now, and for now am going back to strictly commenting on blogs.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Ruby, I’ve missed talking to you. I’m glad you left a comment because I was trying to find your blog…now, reading you’ve deleted it, that makes sense! I hope life is treating you better.

      Oh, I strive to be positive because so much has been taken away. Having great sensitivity is both a blessing and a curse. Being an HSP I fought against it for most of my life, because, as you know, the western world is not very supportive of sensitivity.

      Today, I much prefer (happy) experiences to material presents. They are held deeper and longer in the heart whilst presents are soon forgotten.

      Please keep in touch, I enjoy our friendship. xos

      Liked by 2 people

  2. V.J. says:

    This looks wonderful! Just the sort thing I would love, if they have dairy-free and gluten-free options, of course, lol. Hope the holiday season is good to you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Prairie Girl says:

    What a lovely outing! It all looks so nice.

    I learn just about everything off of Youtube! It’s how I get the majority of home improvements done.

    I hope you have a wonderful Christmas with our family and precious dogs.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Awwwwwhhhhhhhhh, it’s like High-Tea! But with a Christmas tree. Love it. I am completely at the mercy or my mum and younger sister. My younger sister being the only one earning a full-time income. All those nappies I chanced as a teenager and hours of babysitting finially paying off! Have a very merry Christmas. Cheers,H

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wendy says:

    Sounds like a lovely day!!
    Doesn’t it make you feel grand when you can accomplish something like changing the battery? Bravo to you!!
    Happy New Year my friend. May it treat us better than last year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

