Christmas Day Chis

christmas_day_2016_01

Christmas Day was pretty understated in our household. Without me making an effort with the decorating, nothing gets done, except for my mum decorating the doors with Christmas cards and setting up her 1950s’ Crib by the front room window. She tells me of the days when she was first married to my father when people would stop by the window of their tiny terraced house to admire through the glass the Crib, illuminated by tiny lights. My father would always sort out all the lighting, right up till the end – on the real and fake Christmas trees – setting up the dripping icicles from the front of the house and carport, and the various coloured lights to be strung along the walls; notably, the downstairs hall. When I was normal (healthy body, not the painful crippled one of today), I’d always make time for decorating my various homes. However, this year, I wasn’t up to it health-wise, as quite exhausted. I say to myself that next year’s Christmas will be better with me being more prepared, starting those preparations earlier in the year…

Some dogs do, some dogs don’t. Twiglet, being skinny and without much fur (his mum is a smooth – short-coat – and, his dad, a long-hair) really feels the cold so I put his jumpers (sweaters) on when he goes outside. He usually wriggles out of them after a while if the house gets too warm though. His sister, CreamScone, hates wearing anything, as does her mother, Beatrix Grace (the smooth, black coated Chihuahua. Whilst Oscar Dandelion (the long-haired father of Twiglet, CreamScone, SnowDrop and Maxi) doesn’t mind wearing clothes if he has to – which is only when it’s really cold! And, CoCo, our large Chi with her beautiful face – I think she looks like Elizabeth Taylor! – and black thick, long-coat adores being dressed – although she never needs it! CoCo – aka Aunty Grumpy Bitch to the kids because of her snarling growl while they kiss her! – unsurprisingly loves all the attention she can get after first being in a home where she was abused; and, then, with a dog breeder for a couple of years. At 3 years of age she came to live with us. Slowly, her burgeoning confidence replaced the extreme anxiety.

I found cute pink giraffe one-sies (all-in-one-pajamas) and thought how cute CreamScone would look in one, but she wasn’t up for it. So, we soon undressed her. I’ve a feeling that she doesn’t get as cold as Twiglet does. The first thing he does when we open the back door to step into the garden, is to suddenly inhale the cold air with a shudder!

The photo above: is of Christmas morning, showing CoCo (top); Beatrix Grace sniffing her daughter’s behind to confirm that it really is CreamScone inside the mad pink giraffe ensemble!; Twiglet, dressed still in colourful stripey jumper, is also confirming what he thinks is true; and, (bottom-right corner) is Oscar Dandelion photo-bombing with his feathery tail.

christmas_day_2016_02

christmas_day_2016_03

The photo below: John washed the door and window and I decorated them with plastic-paper type snowflakes. It looks very pretty.

christmas_day_2016_04

Photos below: of the dogs in the office where I sometimes sit at my mum’s computer. The telephone is down here, as are the various files. I put one of the wicker-basket-beds in here so the dogs had somewhere to rest because they tend to follow me about. There’s usually a long line of preceding dogs before I enter a room (as the others have mentioned!). It looks as though CreamScone is chomping on a cigar, but, in reality it is a dog-chew; from where she stole it I can only imagine…

christmas_day_2016_05

christmas_day_2016_06

christmas_day_2016_07

christmas_day_2016_08

christmas_day_2016_09

christmas_day_2016_10

The above photo: Gravy bones, anyone?! Saying that instead of ‘cheese’ makes them prick their ears. (They aren’t looking at me in that adoring manner).

Thanks for dropping by, Faith and Oscar Dandelion + co. xox

christmas_day_2016_11

.

oscar_story_leaves_100

*

Copyright Faith McCord 2016

Story and artwork belongs to Faith McCord who is the author and artist holding the copyright. This is not a public domain work. Worldwide rights.

About Oscar Dandelion

Hi, I'm Faith McCord, writer of the Oscar Dandelion books. I love reading, writing, watching films, looking at architecture and general design, embroidery (especially Elizabethan), spending time with my family. I used to enjoy long walks, bodybuilding, going out, however, since my injury my mobility is seriously impaired, so I'm more of a home-body now. I'm interested in meeting other indie / pro writers, so do say 'Hello' ! :)
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Christmas Day Chis

  1. suesuzzz says:

    Way to cute!!!…
    We put our tree up but not decorated it lol…and didn’t decorate the house either…I don’t know what our problem was…but we did have a nice dinner for Christmas and it looks like the lil ones did too ….
    How are you doing my friend???…
    Huggggs
    Suzette

    Liked by 2 people

    • Well, the importance of the Christmas dinner trumps the Christmas tree – but, only just! 😉
      You can’t eat that tree, can you? The plastic needles would get stuck… 😮
      How nice to be with your dad and brother and the little ones. 🙂
      Today I’ve got an enormous cold sore from stress. I do not cope well when the people around me want to be miserable… I may go to TKMaxx in search of a new blanket or cushion, perhaps with pom-poms, lol, with the Christmas money. Although I have sent for a pom-pom maker from China, so may add my own handmade ones (cheaper!!) to an ordinary blanket or cushion.
      Love and hugs Suzette, may 2017 be a positive year for you, my friend.

      Liked by 2 people

      • suesuzzz says:

        Yes you can’t eat the tree lol
        it was just dad and I and my better half I like calling him that lol…but it was still nice and a great day ☻
        oh no …I hate cold sores and yes stress will cause them …I hope since its been a minute lol that you are feeling much better..please let me know k …No that is not a good combination of people they want to bring you down because you don’t feel well or what have you…they are toxic for sure…I am sorry that you have to go thru that …
        Pom Poms are a kool idea I think that they would look good on well everything they are cheery …lol…
        Hope again that you are feeling less stress and the negative people in your life treat you better…
        How is the New Year treating you so far???…
        Hugggs n ♥
        Sorry for taking me so long to get back with you…brain fog from fibro is really kicking in on me and for some reason lots of anxiety and with well life lol…can’t gather my thoughts very well…even on a good day I have problems lol…

        Like

  2. How adorable they all look. Whatever the decor (or the level of energy for Christmas prep), Christmas is really about love and connection. My own little Santa Paws, TinkerToy, is my very favorite connection in my world – so I’m sure you feel the same way. May 2017 bring health and happiness to you and every critter you know and love, both two-legged and fur-faced.
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com)
    – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
    “It takes a village to transform a world!”

    Liked by 1 person

    • How are you Madelyn? You and TinkerToy? I hope things are looking up on the ‘home front’.
      May you have a Blessed New Year! xo

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks you so much – things are in process towards effective solutions. As with most things in life, it is a matter of timing. Thank you so much for your empathy and support.

        Tink is thrilled that it has been too cold in this darned apartment to bathe him, lol. 🙂

        I hope your fur-friends are equally healthy and happy, that your New Year is wonderful (and that a certain Grinch in a certain office here in Cincinnati gets bitten by the Christmas Spirit of Kindness well before next season – lol.) 🙂
        xx,
        mgh

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Kara says:

    Puppies! Good golly gosh, they’re so darn cute and I bet they know it. 😊

    I didn’t do any decorating this year since we were away from home. It was actually kind of nice!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kara, I hope at least you decorated the dragon’s lair? Vine leaves wrapped skillfully into hanging baubles, bursting with the goodness of fresh young grubs!
      I think they (all the pups) do know they’re cute. Chester the Jack Russell does this thing with sticking out her pink tongue when I say sweet things to her, lol.
      Happy New Year! May this one be much better. xo

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Omg! They are adorable! And the way you describe their characteristics………… don’t think I could convince Jamima to wear a jumper…..sadly.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. They look so cute bless them

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Wendy says:

    Oh so cute! Kiki will wear a sweater, but finding one that fits just right is hard. She has a deformed front leg and that makes it a little difficult. I have my eye out for a little coat that velcros on. If I can get hubby out to shop. Kiki does get cold. And forbid it’s raining, she’s not going out then unless she h-a-s to go. Even then she doesn’t like it. Poor thing.
    I know it’s hard, but remember decorations do not make Christmas.

    I’m so sorry

    Liked by 1 person

    • Can you do any dressmaking or sewing? I’ve made a couple of little dogs’ clothes. Having a coat already for a template (that you like) is a good start then you can adjust according to your little one’s length (neck to tail base) and chest (around, the widest part). Good luck with finding the right coat for Kiki 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Wendy says:

    Oops I hit send. I was going to say I’m so sorry you aren’t feeling as well as usual. Thinking of you my dear.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. magarisa says:

    They are all so adorable! The giraffe ensemble is so cute.
    Happy New Year, Faith!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. VanDoggo says:

    Love this pack, what a great family 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

