Mouse in the house

I’m pretty sure I’ve got a mouse in my bedroom, behind the pine bookcase! We’re hearing it scratching. ๐Ÿ

I shall leave it some cheese out. ๐Ÿด ย  In some kind of humane trap.

I wondered why the dogs hadn’t caught it – do they view it as a member of the family?

……. to be continued!! ……. ๐Ÿญ

About Oscar Dandelion

Hi, I'm Faith McCord, writer of the Oscar Dandelion books. I love reading, writing, watching films, looking at architecture and general design, embroidery (especially Elizabethan), spending time with my family. I used to enjoy long walks, bodybuilding, going out, however, since my injury my mobility is seriously impaired, so I'm more of a home-body now. I'm interested in meeting other indie / pro writers, so do say 'Hello' ! :)
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Mouse in the house

  1. I am SUPER TERRIFIED of mice. Luckily, one of my cats is lethal to them. But before we had cats, this mouse trap worked better than any of the others we tried: http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/ketchall-humane-live-multi-catch-mouse-trap-wclear-lid-p-2406.html

    The Internet says it actually does kill the mouse 20% of the time, though the ones we caught were live…angry, but live. (Except the ones that died of starvation because we forgot to check the trap in the garage)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We have mice under our veranda. We have an electric device plugged in indoors that makes a sound that I can’t hear but the mice can

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Could be the books trying to get you to scratch their spines? Happy New Year, Faith! ๐Ÿ’–

    Liked by 1 person

  4. rubycommenting says:

    This is exciting. Please keep us posted:)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Patricia says:

    When I lived in New York our first cat used to leave a dead field mouse right on my front door mat as a gift. Ugh!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. magarisa says:

    Yikes! You need a cat or two to help you catch that mouse. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I didn’t realise dogs could be Mousers? (You know, catch mice?) Jamima is definitely not a Mouser! Not until they are dead & full of Rat-Kill. And definitely not an appropriate chew toy then……Disapointed fur-parent right here! ๐Ÿ™€

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve never seen the dogs go after the wild rabbits that run around the dunes here but Chester (Jack Russell) chases the birds in the garden. I still haven’t seen the mouse, it’s been quiet today. I’ll have to ask John to move the bookshelf – don’t want my hip popping out! I had a Chihuahua who never hurt anyone, even scurrying beetles on the path between the fields we’d take, but spiders…! She would swallow them in a second! ๐Ÿ˜€ Finding dead ‘presents’ isn’t delightful, however well meaning :/ have you had a talk with Jamima about this? ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿˆ

      Like

  8. Nancy J says:

    I remember when I was a kid living in New Jersey. In the winter, we always had a few “visitors” escaping the cold weather. We found out in yucky ways. They attacked our cereal boxes. ๐Ÿ˜Ž It’s hard to catch them humanely. I hope if one has taken up residence in your home, you spot it and are able to sweep the little bugger out the door. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, they can be a nuisance. Where we used to have an office, the industrial estate was new with surrounding waste land, and each morning we’d find a mouse caught in our humane trap. And, each morning I’d go out to the waste land and release it. They stopped visiting after a while. The office was situated in a factory so I suppose they had every opportunity to get in from the cold. We found we had to lock up the few food and hot drink supplies in the metal cabinet! Pretty little things but can cause misery.

      Like

      • Nancy J says:

        They sure can cause misery. But they are so cute. I am glad you have humane traps. I hate killing anything except spiders, cockroaches, waterbugs, flys, uh Bugs ๐Ÿ˜Ž I would let them live humanely if they would listen and just leave my house. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Did your plan succeed?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

