BIRDS IN THE BUSHES (ReBlog)

Beautiful photographs of winter birds from Marilyn Armstrong.

~…*…~~…*…~~…*…~~…*…~~…*…~~…*…~~…*…~~…*…~~…*…~~…*…~~…*…~~…*…~

SERENDIPITY

Through the years, the forsythia bushes that form the boundary between our back lawn and the woods have been the favorite hangout of the songbirds. I used to wonder why, but over time, I’ve more or less deduced that these bushes have a lot of edible material in them. They are dense enough so that the predatory residents of the woods can’t reach them. And maybe, it provides some shelter from the cold.

72-Bird in the bush_01

72-Bird-in-snow--01182016_04

72-birds in the bush_032

Little bird in the thicket Little bird in the thicket

72-Birds-II_055

72-Cardinal-II_26

72-Birds-II_050

72-birds in the bush_024

72-Cardinal-II_28

72-Cardinal-II_27

All of these were taken in winter from my window in the early hours of the morning when it was cold and usually, snowy. In the summer, I know they are there, but the leaves make them invisible. Which, I think, is the way they prefer it.

View original post

About Oscar Dandelion

Hi, I'm Faith McCord, writer of the Oscar Dandelion books. I love reading, writing, watching films, looking at architecture and general design, embroidery (especially Elizabethan), spending time with my family. I used to enjoy long walks, bodybuilding, going out, however, since my injury my mobility is seriously impaired, so I'm more of a home-body now. I'm interested in meeting other indie / pro writers, so do say 'Hello' ! :)
This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.