Healthy

dinner_060217_01

Yum. I look at that picture (above photo) and my taste buds start going. :p

Oh, I’m trying to eat healthier with more fruit and veg but I can’t afford to do it often.

My weight has so ballooned since the injury I have palpitations I may squash all 7 dogs in a single sitting-down manoeuvre. Goodness.

You’d think that living out in the ‘sticks’ (where I hail from; Norfolk, England), I’d be scavenging from the nearby fields. Alas, I fear the bollocking* from an angry-faced farmer as the wheels of my mobility scooter get stuck in the mud…

dinner_060217_02

This was last night’s dinner. I managed to cook it after driving Mum home from the doctors. We waited almost TWO HOURS because the dumb doctors messed up her prescription. Oscar Dandelion had come along – as he is apt to do – and, so, made a new friend inside the pharmacy. An elderly gentleman who gently patted his head and told me the story of the shitz-stew he’d inherited from his mother. Unfortunately, the little dog isn’t so mobile these days – a bit like me and his human dad; except, I don’t believe dogs use walking sticks. Even disabled ones.

Now, I have that odd picture in my mind.

(No. I am not on any strange new pain-pills).

Photos below: 1) my dinner; 2) John’s. Mum had the coconut chicken stir fry from the night before.

Disclaimer: I do not take responsibility for (perhaps) not cooking as well as Jamana’s Helen.

dinner_060217_04

dinner_060217_03

He was in love with Oscar, he couldn’t stop petting and talking nicely to him. I said to him, “We’ve got 6 of those at home – and a Jack Russell!” He didn’t know what to say.

 

twiglet_190117_speachless

We stood near the pharmacy counter; him leaning heavily, awkwardly, on his walking cane; me, with well-behaved Oscar in my arms. He told me he’d had small dogs all his life. I looked at him and thought, this could be me in 30 years time. Except with boobs and lipstick. And more than one dog waiting for me at home.

oscar_drives_july2016_2hrs

.

*bollocking = a term we use here for being yelled at.

.

oscar_story_leaves_100

*

Copyright Faith McCord 2017

Story and artwork belongs to Faith McCord who is the author and artist holding the copyright. This is not a public domain work. Worldwide rights.

About Oscar Dandelion

Hi, I'm Faith McCord, writer of the Oscar Dandelion books. I love reading, writing, watching films, looking at architecture and general design, embroidery (especially Elizabethan), spending time with my family. I used to enjoy long walks, bodybuilding, going out, however, since my injury my mobility is seriously impaired, so I'm more of a home-body now. I'm interested in meeting other indie / pro writers, so do say 'Hello' ! :)
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Healthy

  1. I hear you sister! I’ve put on weight in the last 10 years also. At this rate, it’s not looking good. Food looks great tho. Sometimes buying frozen veggies can make eating healthy more viable. No wastage.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fun post and I love the new word, “Bollocking” ~~dru~~

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wendy says:

    Hairy Bollocking sounds naughty.
    The food looks delish. What is on the potato?
    2 hour wait, no fun. No fun at all.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

